Postal codes for New Zealand - ZIP

No results were found.
  • 1. Enter and confirm data
  • 3. Pick up by the courier!
Send now

The Postal Code System in New Zealand

Postal codes in New Zealand were introduced in 1977 and consist of four digits.

Structure of the Postal Code

The first two digits indicate the zone, the third digit specifies the type (home delivery, delivery to postbox, delivery to private bag, rural deliveries), and the last digit specifies the street in rural areas, the district in the city, or the suburb.

The first digit is assigned based on the following areas:

  • 0 Northland, parts of Auckland
  • 1 Auckland
  • 2 Auckland, Waikato
  • 3 Bay of Plenty, Waikato
  • 4 Gisborne, Hawke's Bay, Taranaki, Manawatu-Wanganui
  • 5 Wellington
  • 6 Wellington
  • 7 Tasman, Nelson, Marlborough, West Coast, Canterbury
  • 8 Canterbury
  • 9 Otago, Southland

In Maori areas, in addition to the English place and street names, Maori names are also acceptable. For example, the address of the Maori Language Commission in Wellington is:

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori
Pouaka Poutāpeta 411
Te Whanganui a Tara 6140

To find a specific postal code in New Zealand, please use our postal code search tool.

The New Zealand Post

Households and businesses in New Zealand are served by the New Zealand Post, a state-owned company. Its headquarters is in Wellington, and under the leadership of Brian Roche, it employs around 12,000 people. NZPost is also active in the financial sector and operates the Kiwibank.

Parcel shipping is handled by its subsidiaries Express Couriers Limited and ParcelDirect Group.

The beginnings of the postal service date back to 1840 with the opening of the first post office in Russell. Forty years later, there were already 850 post offices across the country. With the growing population and economic development, the postal service became increasingly important and influenced social, political, and economic life. In addition to telecommunications, the post also operated a transport service and a bank. Moreover, in post offices, one could register births, marriages, and deaths, register vehicles, pay TV and license fees, or obtain weather information. Postmasters were also authorized to conduct marriages. Due to privatization under Prime Minister David Lange, the New Zealand Post Office was dissolved in 1987 and split into the following companies: Telecom Corporation of New Zealand Limited and Post Office Bank Limited. In 1989, PostBank was sold to the Australia and New Zealand Banking Group (ANZ). The Telecom Corporation was sold a year later to Bell Atlantic and Ameritech.

Sending a Package to New Zealand

At Europacco, you will not only find the correct postal code, but you can also directly send your parcel. Simply enter the address, confirm, and the package will be picked up from your home on the next business day or on a desired date.


Choose to entrust your shipments to Fill out the online form, pay and confirm your order. Easy, fast, cheap!

Our team is always at your disposal!