Zip codes for Slovenia

No results were found.
  • 1. Enter and confirm data
  • 3. Pick up by the courier!
Send now

Postal Codes of Slovenia

Slovenia is a country located in the middle of Europe, bordering with Italy, Austria, Hungary and Croatia. The capital of Slovenia, Ljubljana, is located in the center of the country and represents at the same time the largest city in the country. From the independence in 1991, the country is considered a sovereign state, accepted by the UNO in 1992 and by the EU in 2004. The history of the nation is very varied: under the rule of the Romans, the country became a duchy, then moved to the empire Hapsburg and become part of the Austro-Hungarian kingdom. With the fall of the empire, Slovenia was assigned to the Yugoslav kingdom and became a member of Socialist Yugoslavia after the Second World War. Only after the ten-day War in 1991 Slovenia gained independence. Today, the country has about 2 million inhabitants, consisting of Slovenes, Bosnians, Serbs and Croats. In Slovenia, there is also a small community of Germans too, but they are not recognized as ethnic minorities. The official language is Slovene, in hybrid parts in the ethnic sense, Italian and Hungarian languages have a certain protection.

Highly articulated

Instead of talking about regions or provinces, Slovenia is subdivided into 212 municipalities, including eleven municipal communities. These central municipal communities are: Celje, Koper, Kranj, Ljubljana, Maribor, Murska Sobota, Nova Gorica, Novo Mesto, Ptuj, Slovenj Gradec and Velenje. Between the municipal level and the state level in Slovenia there is no other subdivision, although there have been aspirations in this direction: in 2008 a popular referendum asked for the country to be resettled in provinces, however not generating much interest among the population. There are, however, so-called statistical regions, 12 in Slovenia, but at administrative level they have no direct value. This subdivision dates back to historically rooted traditional regions, which perhaps will have a more important administrative role in the upcoming future. The statistical regions of Slovenia are: Gorenjska region (Alta Carniola), Goriška region (Gorizia), South Slovenia region (Slovenia Southeast), Carinthia region (Carinthia), Primorje-notranjska region (Carniola Interna-Carso, until 2014: Notranjsko- The Karst region), the Coastal Region (Litoral-Carso), the Osrednjeslovenska region (Slovenia Centrale), the Podravska region (Oltredrava), Pomurska region (Murania), Savinjska region, Posavina region (Oltresava Inferiore, up to 2014: Zasavska regija.

Post System in Slovenia

Slovene Post Office, the country post is called "Pošta Slovenije" or shortly "PS". It is responsible for the postal service and uses the four-post postal code, which was introduced after the independence in 1991. Firstly, codes were used in five positions, which were valid for whole Yugoslavia. Today's ZIP codes in Slovenia are made up of four digits: while the first digit (in some cases the first two digits) is also reflected in the postal regions, the last three digits refer to the postal districts of urban or rural areas. The urban zones, with only a few exceptions, for their ZIP codes are using as final digits "x000", which is the identifier for the municipal municipalities. Of various municipal municipalities these are:

  • Celje: 3000
  • Koper: 6000
  • Kranj: 4000
  • Ljubljana: 1000
  • Maribor: 2000
  • Murska Sobota: 9000
  • Nova Gorica: 5000
  • New place: 8000
  • Ptuj: 2250
  • Slovenj Gradec: 2380
  • Velenje: 3320

That the statistical regions do not have any administrative value till today, but still play an important role in the postal service, it can be easily seen by looking the followings ZIP codes:

  • Gorenjska region (Alta Carniola):
    • 4000 for the municipality of Kranj
    • 42xx for the remaining municipalities
  • Goriška region (Gorizia):
    • 5000 for the municipality of Nova Gorica
    • 52xx
  • South-eastern Slovenia region (Slovenia South-East):
    • 13xx
    • 8000 for the municipality of Novo Mesto
    • 82xx
    • 83xx
  • Carinthia (Carinthia)
    • 23xx
    • 2380 for the municipality of Slovenj Gradec
    • 8216 for the commune of Mislinja
  • Primorje-Notranjska region (Carniola Intera-Carso, until 2014: Notranjsko-kraška region)
    • 13xx
    • 62xx
  • Coastal-Carp region (Litoral-Carso)
    • 6000 for the municipality of Koper
    • 62xx
    • 63xx
  • Osrednjeslovenska regija (Slovenia Centrale)
    • 1000 for the municipality of Ljubljana
    • 12xx
    • 13xx
  • Podravska region (Oltredrava)
    • 2000 for the municipality of Maribor
    • 22xx
    • 2250 for the municipality of Putj
    • 23xx
  • Pomurska regija (Muranija)
    • 9000 for the municipality of Murks Sobota
    • 92xx
  • Savinjska region
    • 3000 for the municipality of Celje
    • 32xx
    • 33xx
    • 3320 for the municipality of Velenje
  • Posavina Region (Oltresava Inferiore, up to 2014: Southeastern Region)
    • 32xx
    • 82xx
    • 83xx
    • 14xx
  • Zasavska region
    • 14xx
    • 12xx

Note: In Slovenia, it is customary to place the abbreviation of the country "SI" in the four-digit postal code. A dash separates the two parts, the abbreviation and the numeric code.

If you are organizing an expedition to the University of Ljubljana then you must use the following address:

Univerza v Ljubljana
Congress trg 12
SI-1000 Ljubljana

Moreover, the term "trg" in Slovenian stands for "square".


Choose to entrust your shipments to Fill out the online form, pay and confirm your order. Easy, fast, cheap!

Our team is always at your disposal!